New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

Hi FROM COLORADO

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2017, 05:25 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hi FROM COLORADO

I've been considering purchasing a LAND ROVER for the past 2 years, ever since my daughter got one. She and her husband both have Land Rovers , one a Disco and the other an LR3. The problem is the ratings I see for Land Rover in general. Particularly Consumer Reports . They really worry me since, at 68, I'm not in any position to repair my own vehicles. The stealership would be doing any repair work for me. Do these vehicles really deserve the below average ratings they get?

john

Old 12-19-2017, 05:49 PM
Super Moderator
Received 1,588 Likes on 1,304 Posts

Some yes but the newer ones are quite good as long as they are maintained.

I have a 2006, and 2007 LR3 and a 1983 Land Rover 110 all great trucks.

Oh and welcome from Augusta, GA

Old 12-19-2017, 06:34 PM
Mudding
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Hello from Larkspur! Maintenance is key, but you will not have the same kind of fun as you will driving a Rover. I've more recently acquired a couple of older 110s and a much older IIA, but in the past I've owned nothing newer than 2003 and they were all great. Never left me stranded. If/when you need a shop and if you're on the Front Range then look up Roadside Werxs. All others that I know of will cost a bundle. The best Land Rover saying is, "One Life, Live it."

Old 12-19-2017, 08:41 PM
Drifting
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Shouldn't your title read "High in Colorado" ;-)

If you're not willing/able to do some routine maintenance on your own, look from something newer. LR3 and LR4 are better but lack "soul" (IMHO)

Old 12-19-2017, 09:35 PM
Super Moderator
Received 1,588 Likes on 1,304 Posts

I think the LR3 still has soul, don't know about the LR4

Old 12-20-2017, 10:36 AM
Drifting
Received 1 Like on 1 Post