New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

New in NC

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2013, 04:09 PM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New in NC

Hey, everyone.

Just purchased my first LR. I ended up with a 2002 Discovery 2. It is completely stock…for now. 143k, but seems to have been well taken care of (compared to the many others I viewed.) Anyway, the search is over and the fun begins.

I enjoy projects and tinkering on vehicles, but am a little nervous as I am new to LRs.

I am just converting after owning Jeeps. Actually, I still have a 78 cj-7 I need to sell before my wife kills me, and before I can do too many upgrades.

Bought a Land Rover because I needed a true utility vehicle. This discovery is better suited for camping trips with my kid and wife with me. I am able to hunt out of it and not wake neighbors and everything in the woods (jeep is a 304 with side pipes). And it will better accommodate our canoe outings once I get a rack. Also, I suffered from rover envy as a friend in Alabama has one he would let me drive from time to time

I appreciate all the knowledge the forum gave me as I looked for a vehicle and know I will continue to benefit from your years of wisdom.

Old 12-18-2013, 09:54 PM
7th Gear

So.... It has begun.

Yesterday I did a full inspection of my new purchase and made an order from Atlantic British. Front driver brake lines were leaking, so new SS lines on the way. New transmission filter, thermostat, crush washer, oil filter, brake master cylinder reservoir, air filter, plugs, and wires.

Went to advance auto parts today to finish the list with fluids needed to complete discomikes high mileage service. Thanks, man.

Looks to be a fun weekend for me and my new friend!!!