General Range Rover Discussion - Archived Archived threads for all Range Rover discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

95 range rover LSE problems..

Old 02-17-2011, 05:37 PM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 95 range rover LSE problems..

My girlfriend just gave me 1995 range rover SE. She said the only problem is the transmission and a leak in the heater core. When i drove the vehicle on the freeway, the car runs fine except one time when i stop at a red light. when it was time for me to go, i step on the gas and the car will just revve for 2 seconds then go into gear..Do i need a new transmission or do i just need to change the transmission oil? My last question is does anybody know if a 2000 range rover tail light could fit my 95'range rover? It seem like it does but im not sure..Im new to this vehicle..

Old 02-17-2011, 09:35 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

the tail lights for all P38 models are compatible. You may need to replenish your transmission fluid. I would have a fluid and filter flush done. And then at the next oil change do another transmission fluid flush. Make sure they use Dexron III ATF. You can get the filter and gasket kit at roverparts.com.

Old 02-17-2011, 11:44 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Do what LRScott said, also you will want to fix that heater core really soon if it is leaking. If your transmission is low it may either rev and then slam into gear as it builds pressuer or it will run take off like you are in 3rd gear. You may also want to check and change the fluid in your transfer case since that is the next step in the process. As a rule, I change all the fluids, hoses, plugs and wires whenever I buy a car. Look on Craigslist as well for a used tail light, there are plenty of Rovers being parted out.

Old 02-18-2011, 10:10 PM
Overlanding

thank you guys very much for these helpful information. how do i know if my car is a p38? and do i need to buy a new heater core if its just a leak?