General Range Rover Discussion - Archived Archived threads for all Range Rover discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Any advise on how to reset the suspention?

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2011, 11:53 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any advise on how to reset the suspention?

Hi guys. Im brand new to the world of Range Rover enthusiasts. I purchased my 98 hse at auction last friday and have been trying to get it off the ground... literally... ever sinse. The air system pump works and it looks like there are alot of new parts already installed ... very clean .... but I cant seem to get it to even try and lift off the bump stops. I found an air leak at the block and replaced the o-rings I found there. with that stopped and no other apparent leaks I had hoped that it would work but no dice. I thought about resetting the computer but it sounds like that requires a trip to the dealership which I am vehemently apposed to. Any suggestions on how I can reset the system on my own? Thanks Jb

Old 02-11-2011, 03:15 AM
4wd Low

Have the RR on. Park it in neutral. Turn steering wheel all the way to left then right. LMK

Old 02-11-2011, 07:55 AM
Rock Crawling

There could be any number of reasons for this to happen. It sounds like you have checked for leaks. Does the compressor run for a while at start up and then shut off? If it shuts off that means that it reached the proper pressure which is a good thing. If it keeps on running that means you still have a leak somewhere. When I got my Rover the first thing I did was replace the bags, lines, o-rings and rebuilt the compressor. It is possible that your Rover thinks that one of the doors is open which deactivates the EAS. How about the switch on the dash make sure that it is not set to "Access" mode and that the override switch is not activated. If all else fails you can get a cable that hooks to your laptop and you can override the system using some special software. Good luck and keep us posted.