General Range Rover Discussion - Archived Archived threads for all Range Rover discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Drive Shaft Missing on 99 RR 4.0 SE

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2010, 10:35 AM
8th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Drive Shaft Missing on 99 RR 4.0 SE

Good morning everyone, I am new to the RR family. To make it a long story short. I was given a 99 RR 4.0 SE from a relative. It onlt has 99K miles the interior is complete and was taken care of. Here is where it gets bad. I checked the bottom and noticed that the Drive Shaft is missing: I just dont know if its the front or rear. I know this is a dumb question but it looked like it was broken off. Any help would be appreciated.

Old 12-02-2010, 02:25 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Well, look at it lol. If the drive shaft is going to the rear differential it is the rear drive shaft. If its going to the front differential, its the front drive shaft. oh BTW, don't drive it...If you think it snapped off, take a look at the differential and transfer case to see if there is any damage.

Old 12-02-2010, 05:37 PM
Drifting

That sound's epic in many ways! I am so happy for you to get such a wonderful vehicle! I'm sorry that the drive system is not there... It should be a pretty painless fix... that is if you don't go factory... aftermarket would do just fine... When it comes to not being able to see the parts.. aftermarket is the way to go...

Old 12-03-2010, 07:44 AM
Mudding

So did the person who gave you the vehicle offer any information about the problem?

It could be as simple as a new u-joint. It could be as complicated as a sized viscous coupling.

If only a driveshaft is needed, get one from a wrecking yard. There are also several online used parts suppliers. Fit new u-joints regardless.

A pic or two may help.

Old 12-11-2010, 12:21 PM
8th Gear