Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Fuel pressure gremlins

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2015, 11:19 AM
Winching
Received 43 Likes on 39 Posts
Default Fuel pressure gremlins

I have been chasing a fuel issue for a few years now and it confounds me because it keeps resolving itself. I believe I have the original fuel pump and relay on my 1998 Discovery 1. They look original, marked “97.” So on several occasions, I’ve apparently lost fuel pressure while driving. The car stumbles, runs weakly, and slows to a coasting speed. Sometimes it will just start going again after 15 or 20 minutes that I usually spend checking things but not finding any problems. One time I found the 15A fuel pump fuse had blown, but only that one time out of perhaps six or seven incidents. The latest incident, I did not seem to be getting fuel pressure even after hotwiring the fuel pump at the inertia switch. After I pulled the fuel pump, it ran fine on the bench. I reinserted it and everything runs fine.

My fuel pressure troubleshooting usually goes like this:

Check the fuel level.

Have a clean fuel filter in place.

Check for fuel pressure at the fuel rail Schrader valve. It may have some gas pressure from hot fuel, but if it “deflates” and will not re-inflate after switching the pump on, I know there is a pressure issue.

Check the fuel pump fuse. It is the 15A fuse under the hood.

Check the fuel pump multifunction relay. With the ignition on, if the relay is disconnected and reconnected the contacts in the relay should be heard clicking and the fuel pump should be switched on for at least a few seconds.

Check the inertia switch on the firewall. The switch should be pressed in flat.

Check for ~12V at the inertia switch plug. The relay may need to be disconnected and reconnected to check the voltage when it switches the pump on.