Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Question re overheating

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2015, 04:55 PM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question re overheating

My mother's 97 SE7 with ~99k miles has started to over heat. She was driving in our mid 90s heat with AC on, and noticed the temp gauge near the red and what sounds like the transmission temp light come on. No new noises or anything. She stopped and waited for a little bit and restarted the Disco, with the same results. She then called me and I said don't turn it back on.

While I'm not a mechanic, we had it towed home for me to look at it. There is plenty of new looking coolant in the radiator and no obvious leaks. The engine oil doesn't look milky or exhaust white/smelly like a head gasket. The condenser fans do turn on, but one is pretty sluggish. How fast should these turn at idle with AC on? I was going to change the thermostat, but figured the transmission light probably wouldn't turn on if it's just a bad thermostat. Bad radiator? I haven't yet had time to check if there are cool spots on the radiator. Any ideas?

Old 08-03-2015, 05:59 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 399 Likes on 383 Posts

They should sound like fans, pushing a mass of air quickly, that loud. Also suspect the fan clutch is not up to par. Check it, if it turns freely (about one revolution or more) with engine off for several hours then it's time to replace. It should resist spinning even with ambient air temps in the mid 90's.

Old 08-03-2015, 10:36 PM
4wd Low

Will one poorly functioning fan be enough to cause it to overheat? One looks pretty weak:
Video

Old 08-03-2015, 11:44 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 142 Likes on 113 Posts

Originally Posted by BrianTN
Will one poorly functioning fan be enough to cause it to overheat? One looks pretty weak:
Video
Well they didn't install two because they had piles of fan motors laying around the factory and they didn't know what to do with them.