Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

to get warranty or not

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2012, 11:06 PM
TReK
Received 392 Likes on 305 Posts
Default to get warranty or not

well my 2004 disco warranty is coming to an end in 6000 km i have had it for almost 2 years and no major problems, except coil pack and oil pan and crank gaskets replaced under original warranty, plus i got a woods drive shaft out of it, all major service has been done, engine rebuilt with new liners 4 years ago by other owner, it has 118000 km now if i get the new warranty it will cost 2400 bucks but its 2 years unlimited kms, and it pretty much covers everything,
what do you guys think ? im not much of it do it yourself even though im a refrigeration mechanic but just dont have the space and just hate working on cars.

Old 07-20-2012, 12:11 AM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Only you can decide - but if you're the kind of driver who shows up on the service drive for issues, remember $2400 can go QUICK...

Old 07-20-2012, 06:15 AM
Baja
Received 317 Likes on 311 Posts

is it an extended LR warranty, or some 3rd party warranty?

If you can do the work yourself I would say $2400 buys a lot of parts.

If indeed you do not feel comfortable replacing say head gaskets, them I would say go for it.
the cost of replacing the headgaskets will cover most of the warranty.

But read the agreement very closely to what is covered and what is not,
these company are not in buisness to lose money.

Last edited by drowssap; 07-20-2012 at 07:39 AM.
Old 07-20-2012, 08:51 AM
Administrator
Received 99 Likes on 81 Posts

Will depend on who the warranty company is. I would check them out and also have them send you a copy of the actual warranty to see exactly what is covered and when.

Old 07-20-2012, 09:41 AM
Super Moderator
Received 95 Likes on 90 Posts

Originally Posted by Disco Mike