Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Configurable Terrain Response graphic explanation from LR

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2021, 01:17 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 1,394 Likes on 688 Posts
Default Configurable Terrain Response graphic explanation from LR

I spent yesterday at the Biltmore getting a great education on the specifics of the various Defender off-road settings from a super instructor (Ben Wooten, if you're going to Ashville.) It is so useful to get to dial in various settings and try them on the same terrain to see how they behave differently. (for reference, I have a lot of Jeep experience in the rocks and sand out west, but very little in the mud and forests back east, ironic since I live in Atlanta. And practically no Defender experience anywhere off-road, yet.)

Anyway, I was very curious about the configurable terrain response -- what exactly does it do and how does it compare to the various pre-programmed Terrain Response options (Mud & Ruts, Grass/Snow/Gravel, Sand, etc.) My real question, once I got familiar with the parameters of Configurable Terrain Response (CTR from here on), I was curious about how my settings compare to the canned ones of the various programs. I was wishing you could choose, say, Mud & Ruts, see the settings for it, and only add a little more of this or that, rather than starting entirely from scratch. But if you choose Mud & Ruts, you don't know what the parameters are, nor do you have any control over changing them.

Ben just sent me a brochure from LR showing the 3 main settings are for each of the canned programs. So for instance, now let's say I wanted to utilize Rock Crawl, but add a heavier steering feel (I happen to prefer a heavy wheel), I could look on the chart and see what Rock Crawl gives you for each of the parameters, duplicate that in my CTR settings, but push Steering Response to 3 to get the heavier feel. Etc.

Here it is if anyone wants it. I printed on heavy card stock and put it in the glove box.

Cheers!