Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about tire chains

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2022, 10:13 AM
Pro Wrench
Received 1,167 Likes on 627 Posts
Default Question about tire chain substitute: "Autosocks"

Question as I'm still relatively new to living in wintery conditions (from the south and CA here...)

There are several mountain passes (most notably Snoqualmie) in our area that do require chains at certain times, and they can have check points. Although I've never seen a check point, just signs. If you have AWD/4WD you don't need to put on the chains to pass go, but you do need to have them in the vehicle to pass the checkpoints without a $500 fine.

What I didn't realize until someone mentioned it to me at dinner is that it applies to AWD/4WD vehicles like our Defenders.

So what on earth chains could work... Autosocks? @GavinC just read a post where you had them on a rental Escalade. Good ?

Funny - I googled Land Rover Autosock after reading a post from and this came up -- so apparently JLR rebrands and sells these for Evoques etc
https://store.landrover.com/vplvw007...ction-aid.html

Last edited by nashvegas; 12-20-2022 at 10:31 AM.
Old 12-20-2022, 01:50 PM
4th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Go to Goodwill and buy a set. I have a pair from a 1982 Oldsmobile that I carried for years in my RRS. Showed them to numerous CHP and CalTrans workers when asked...
They will close the roads before you need chains on your Defender

Last edited by alanconnelly; 12-22-2022 at 11:55 AM.
The following users liked this post:
foggy (10-29-2023)
Old 12-20-2022, 02:34 PM
Pro Wrench

Hmm interesting. So "fake em" ... got it. That did occur to me haha.

inater (12-20-2022)
Old 12-21-2022, 12:56 AM
Pro Wrench
Received 2,306 Likes on 951 Posts

@nashvegas