2020 Defender Talk about the new 2020 Land Rover Defender
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Recommended Towing Set Up for 2020 Defender 110?

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2021, 09:38 PM
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Recommended Towing Set Up for 2020 Defender 110?

Folks

Please excuse me for asking what is probably some basic questions - I'm a total towing/camping noob. We purchased a KZ E17 Hatch to tow with our 2020 Defender. Camper is 3,235 dry weight. We had the RV dealer install an EAZ-LIFT hitch. Max gross trailer weight is 15,000 lbs. Max tongue weight 1,500. Plus it's a weight distribution hitch - a Land Rover no no. We also added sway control to the hitch. The other bummer is that the location of the jack on hitch is located such that we had to remove the spare tire from the rear door in order to access the cargo area.

All of this seems contradictory to what I'm reading in other posts. Should we go with or without sway bars and just let the built-in trailer stability assist do its thing?

Bottom line, what hitch combination is working for all you camper enthusiasts out there for a trailer this size, particularly a setup that has enough distance between the hitch and the camper so opening the rear door clears the spare tire? Can anyone ascertain what parts were used in the photo from this dealer site? https://www.landroverparamus.com/202...wing-capacity/

Thanks in advance!
Photo of our first trip out is below.. plus specs on the hitch that was installed by the RV dealer.

Last edited by cleveburgian; 09-20-2021 at 09:43 PM.
Old 09-21-2021, 08:07 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 23 Likes on 15 Posts

Our Defender (‘21 XD P400) has spent most of its 10k miles pulling around a 6k lbs boat and 6k lbs travel trailer (fully loaded). We recently completed a 5k road trip from the Midwest to the Wear coast and back - the Defender did great aside from the dreadful gas mileage.