Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Remarkable capability

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2022, 07:18 PM
Mudding
Received 85 Likes on 37 Posts
Default Remarkable capability

So today I took my D300 110 out on local 4WD trails in Victoria, Australia. Being early winter, there was plenty of mud and standing water. I’m no an expert by any stretch, but my son and I decided to tackle some of the medium difficulty tracks, and one in particular had a very steep section with deep ruts and some significant holes, rated as difficult (black diamond) on the Newtracs app. Ahead of me were three heavily kitted Land Cruisers, with mud terrain tires, lift kits and other serious equipment. All three went up the steep slope, sliding, dropping into holes, churning up mud, slithering from side to side, belching smoke and revving loudly.

To be honest, I shouldn’t have proceeded, but I didn’t realise how deep some of the holes were until I reached them and by then I was half way up and committed. Anyway, I put the Defender into Low but in my anxiety forgot to engage any terrain modes. My aim was simply to skip along the top of the road between the ruts. My main stress was falling into the giant holes about two thirds from the bottom and becoming beached. Gently on the accelerator, I drove up, carefully steering to avoid dropping into ruts that the cars in front had fallen into. The Defender didn’t even blink. It was like I was driving up a sealed road. It just trundled up, kept a steady pace and came to a halt beside a bunch of 4WD. One of the guys ahead of me waved, came over and said “that’s unbelievable”. Then he realised I had only the Goodyear 20” AT tyres, and added “How did you get up with those tyres?”. I shrugged and said it was all the car, because I have no idea what I’m doing.