Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Towing Travel Trailer- don’t have tow package

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2021, 11:08 AM
Winching
Received 161 Likes on 114 Posts
Default Towing Travel Trailer- don’t have tow package

considering either buying or renting for now a 19-22 travel traveler. not too concerned with the weight as i know the Defender is very capable

my car did not come with the tow package, just tow hitch.

what would i need to get everything settup? i am new to all this

Old 05-10-2021, 05:16 AM
Three Wheeling
Received 33 Likes on 18 Posts

If the trailer is more than 1650 lb (750kg) you need to make sure it has trailer brakes. Then you'll need a trailer brake controller.

As long as you're towing on road you should be ok without the towing pack extras.

Old 05-10-2021, 08:31 AM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 698 Likes on 405 Posts

Depending on where you bought the tow package you may need to add the wiring which includes the round 7 connector port, which includes the power line for electrical brakes and the brake controller line.

if you bought fromJLR and the round connector is live you should be fine to just add the brake controller

Old 05-12-2021, 11:47 AM
Winching

i don’t have a tow package, just the hitch as the option. the rental place for the trailer says all i need is the 7 pin and the 2 inch ball and that’s pretty much it. trailer will have a brake controller and nothing needed

does the defender come with the 4 pin or is that something i need wired in?

Originally Posted by TrioLRowner
Depending on where you bought the tow package you may need to add the wiring which includes the round 7 connector port, which includes the power line for electrical brakes and the brake controller line.

if you bought fromJLR and the round connector is live you should be fine to just add the brake controller

Old 05-12-2021, 11:53 AM
Three Wheeling