Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

'95 Disco Bent & Broken Push Rod...

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2011, 03:18 PM
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy '95 Disco Bent & Broken Push Rod...

Hey everyone!

I'm new to LR, but not being a shade-tree mechanic. I bought a Disco with an unknown engine issue. It would run, but sounded like it had a bad valve train rattle and it lacked power. I could tell by its sluggishness (and glowing cats) that it had clogged cats, so I had new ones installed. This helped with the power, but not the valve train rattle (I guess the damage was already done by the PO - don't know how long he drove it in this condition).

I only put a few miles on it, but realized the heads would likely need to come off. I did a compression test, and all cylinders were 140ish except one, which was 60. I pulled the valve cover off today from that side, and to my amazement saw one push rod not against the rocker arm. I was able to pull it right out of the engine... Well, about 2/3 of it, anyhow. It was bent and broken.

That's where it sits now. My question is, anyone have any thoughts on how I could possibly get the other end of the push rod out of the engine without removing the head? I was toying with the idea of just putting another push rod in, putting it back together, and giving it a whirl.

Of course the other alternative is to pull the heads and have them professionally reworked. I know this is obviously the better idea given the he!! that this engine obviously endured while having clogged cats, but I'm lazy and its Winter.

Any input would be appreciated. The vehicle has 160k miles, and is in otherwise excellent condition.

Thanks! Adam.

Old 12-10-2011, 03:41 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 399 Likes on 383 Posts

Should only need to remove the intake without removing the head. Then your only on the hook for a valley pan gasket. Cut the push-rod, remove. Thorough check of remaining valve-train.