Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Camshaft Lobes, Rod Adjustment Question

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2022, 03:23 PM
Mudding
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Camshaft Lobes, Rod Adjustment Question

Just did a head job, replaced the lifters, and while test running with the rocker cover off noticed one valve/rocker assembly wasn’t moving. Went back in to make sure the rod was installed properly and to inspect the camshaft. I have no experience with camshafts, but the camshaft lobe in question seems to be more worn than all the others, not flat, just not as pointed. I should mention this wasn’t an issue before the head job. Do I just need to get an adjustable rod for this lobe?

***UPDATE***

manually pushed on all the rods on the driver side and all of the hydraulic lifters were stiff except for the lifter associated with the non-moving rocker/valve. That one was very springy, I’m guessing it’s not filling with oil and isn’t getting stiff.

***UPDATE***

pulled out the bad lifter to discover what’s shown in the pictures below… any ideas how this happened? There is not supposed to be a hole in the bottom of the lifter.

Last edited by DiscoNewbe; 04-03-2022 at 06:06 PM.
Old 04-04-2022, 08:50 AM
Super Moderator
Received 2,297 Likes on 1,688 Posts

If that is a brand new lifter you have some serious issues. That thing is no longer flat and badly worn down (explains the hole thru the bottom).

Old 04-04-2022, 08:56 AM
Mudding

Originally Posted by Best4x4
If that is a brand new lifter you have some serious issues. That thing is no longer flat and badly worn down (explains the hole thru the bottom).