Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Can't find o2 sensors

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2012, 06:52 PM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can't find o2 sensors

I'm new to the forum and this is my first time posting a thread so bare with me. I know that the land rover has 4 o2 sensors. 2 before the catalytic converter and 2 after it. I only have the 2 before the catalytic converter and I assume the previous owner had the other 2 removed. So my question is how bad do I need those other 2 o2 sensors? And if I do need them how would I gO about putting them back on and hooking them into the computer? Thank you very much for any feedback.

Old 04-23-2012, 07:05 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

You only have 2, pre-cat, thats all your truck came with from the factory.
The rear O2's were added only as a emissions device, they will set off the check engine light when the cats go bad, the rear O2's ONLY monitor the cats and do nothing else so they are not needed.
Like I said your truck did not come with rear O2's anyway so dont worry about them.
Hell, if you wanted you could even have your cats removed and nothing would change on your truck, however if you have inspections where you live it will not pass with the cats removed.

Old 04-24-2012, 07:11 AM
Pro Wrench
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Spike555
You only have 2, pre-cat, thats all your truck came with from the factory.
The rear O2's were added only as a emissions device, they will set off the check engine light when the cats go bad, the rear O2's ONLY monitor the cats and do nothing else so they are not needed.
Like I said your truck did not come with rear O2's anyway so dont worry about them.
Hell, if you wanted you could even have your cats removed and nothing would change on your truck, however if you have inspections where you live it will not pass with the cats removed.