Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

help!

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2010, 03:58 PM
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help!

Hi guys - Im new to landys and I need a little help - Im heading up the snow in the next few weeks with my kids, 1st Q. will I need to put chains on? if yes which end? (sorry for being SO blonde) 2nd Q when going up very steep icy section of ski road will I need to stay in 1st (mine is auto) and what do I do with the dif lever?? my old 4x4 was a bighorn and easy to drive off road, just not sure what to do in a land rover? - sorry to appear so blonde but not sure who else to ask. thanks for your help :-) FeeFee

Old 07-13-2010, 04:37 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Depending on your tires, you will probably not need chains, but if you do, all 4 tires need them. This thing puts equal traction to all 4 tires.

Shift the lever to the left on the slippery bits, then back to the right on dry pavement. Test it before you go to make sure it shifts freely. They freeze up if you don't use them.

If you shift the lever front and back, that is low and high. Leave it back in high unless you are crawling rocks.
'
Left and right locks and unlocks it. Left for slippery and right for regular road. Only shift under 5 MPH and do not run locked (to the left) on dry pavement Keep in mind that it will tend to push you straight with it locked. You may want to try it regularly first and see how it handles. These trucks are amazing in snow when you just drive them normally. I usually don't even lock it when we get bad snows here..

Last edited by okdiscoguy; 07-13-2010 at 04:39 PM.
Old 07-13-2010, 04:49 PM
Recovery Vehicle

When I bought my DI I tried out L and found exactly what discoguy was talking about. Very stiff to get it into L. Now I just do a shift every couple months to make sure it is still working the go right back to high. Keeps things moving.

Old 07-13-2010, 04:56 PM
5th Gear
Thumbs up