Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

High Idle, Not Shifting, And Other Problems

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2019, 01:52 PM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default High Idle, Not Shifting, And Other Problems

Hello everyone!

I am new to the Land Rover community. Excited to be here!

I recently purchased a 1996 Land Rover Discovery SE7. It runs and I hope to use it as a daily driver but here some of the high priority issues I am up against and hope to fix soon:

High Idle:
It idles anywhere between 1800-2000. I've read around the forum and i've heard suggestions of checking and/or replacing different sensors (MAF, IAVC, TPS, ECT). The guy I bought it from recently replaced the MAF, IAVC, and the TPS. He did mention that he thought the ECT is bad and/or the thermostat is stuck open and could cause that idle, which I have also read. I hope to check all these sensors soon to rule bad sensors. I also plan to check into the throttle cable and see if it needs adjustment.

My question: Does the ECU need to be reset given that all these sensors were replaced? I've read that people have replaced these sensors and then they simply had the ECU reset at a local LR shop. It's not throwing any codes right now so I have nothing to check. I am getting a OBD2 scanner in the mail tomorrow and hope to check the temp.

Transmission: