Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

strong gas smell and poor mileage, ????

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2010, 07:59 PM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy strong gas smell and poor mileage, ????

Hi,

I own a 96 discovery, for the last month a strong raw gasoline smell comes out, abouth every other day I drive it, immediately the check engine light turn on for a while and then it turns off and so. Also, it been giving me very poor mileage lately.

I changed the spark plugs and wires and done a tune up, which help a little bit, but not much, still on 8.5 miles per gallon

I've taken it to two different places to be checked with the computer, and apparently nothing seems to be wrong, no errors come out.

I'm not a mechanic, and not sure what else to look for, please help!!!

Thanks all,

Yvonne67ht
Discovery 1996
142,800 miles
Automatic 4.0 V8 4X4

PS I forgot to mention another issue but this one with my brakes. Sometimes at the first drive of the day, the brakes will not function for a fraction of a minute, it makes a wear squeeze air noise, the haul light on dash turns green for half minute, then it turns off, and the brakes function totally normal for the rest of the day. No idea of what is cosing this ?????????????

Last edited by yvonne67; 12-03-2010 at 08:10 PM.
Old 12-03-2010, 08:07 PM
Winching
Received 12 Likes on 6 Posts
Default oooooh that smell

You could very well have a leak in a fuel line. That could explain the raw gas smell and the bad mpg's / loss of fuel and the lack of codes / check engine light.

Check for (or have a mechanic you TRUST check for) loose fuel fittings between the tank and the fuel rail. Especially around the filter located inside the right, rear wheel well, on the frame, just forward of the shock.

and uh... no smokin'

Old 12-03-2010, 08:11 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

Also look into O2 sensors as well as the coolant temp sensor.

Old 12-03-2010, 08:21 PM
4wd Low