Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

For those of you that have or have done a diesel conversion

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2015, 11:05 AM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default For those of you that have or have done a diesel conversion

Let me start by saying I realize regulations vary by state, and even within a state, but I am looking to hear what people have done to overcome the problem with registering a diesel conversion. I have a 1999 D1 with a 1998 300TDI from a UK D1. The initial conversion was done by someone else, and attention to detail was lacking. I have put 100s of hours into cleaning it up and making sure everything is just right. I currently have it titled and registered in CO. I have been driving it for almost three years as a daily driver, and have put nearly 20K miles on the conversion. I have to say I love it!

Here's a quick run down of the current configuration:

1999 D1 with a 1998 300TDI engine and automatic transmission
1.5" Terra Firma Lift
Tactical Rovers front bumper
Warn 10K winch with synthetic line
245-75-16 BFG Mud Terrain Tires
Full SD rack
Hella Lights on SD rack and winch bumper

Now, here is the rub, I have moved into Denver proper, where I need emissions to register my Disco. It passed emissions, BUT, it doesn't meet Denver's regulations for a diesel conversion So currently, I can't register it anywhere where emissions is required. Not a huge problem, because I have a ranch property where it is now registered, but I would like to see what other people have done to overcome certification/registration hurdles.

In checking with the EPA, it sounds like most everyone that has done a diesel conversion technically has an illegal vehicle. There is a very, very narrow range of acceptable conversions, and they estimate less than 1% of conversions actually meet all the requirements........

What have you done, and how did you get your vehicle through the bureaucratic jungle?