Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bye,bye K&N

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2007, 07:55 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Bye,bye K&N

Gents, for a while, I had been ignoring all the bad publicity that the K&N air filter was getting. NO,No, nothing went wrongI just decided to re-install the stock air filter for experience sake. I was thinking that if I could prove to myself that the K&N would at least give me1 mile per gallon, even if it killed my maf once a year, I would still be saving more money in gas than the price of a maf. so what the heck.....

But what I found was somewhat surprising. I actually get better mileage without the K&N[&:]All right, we're not talking a lot more, but at leasta full 1/2mile per gallon! based on 3 tankfulls.

I did however, found that the power increase( kickdown) that I had noticedwhen flooring the vehicle to pass on the highway, was gone[:'(]. But hey, I'm a prudent driver and prefer the right lane anyway

FYI

Darover

Old 09-20-2007, 09:54 AM
Default RE: Bye,bye K&N

You are dead to me!!....LOL!

Old 09-20-2007, 09:59 AM
Mudding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

There is some flaw or error in this non-scientific test. Did you have a heat shield to protect the filter from the engine compartment? Were you driving differently with the K&N filter? Some people put their right foot down further when they have more power, that can drink more gas really quickly.

Old 09-20-2007, 11:08 AM
Rock Crawling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

more importantly; was your water intake higher with the K&N? That could explain the fast driving (trying to get to a restroom). Also, wearing a blue blazer will give you more wind resistance, meaning less MPG!

-Just playing guys! I say, personal preference. But since the factory didn't use an oiled filter, I'm not going to. I'm old school like that.

-ugly

Old 09-20-2007, 11:14 AM
Recovery Vehicle