Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A/C Help & Knowledge Please

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2018, 10:28 AM
Baja
Received 368 Likes on 344 Posts
Default A/C Help & Knowledge Please

It's a rare occasion I request some help or knowledge. Firstly, I'm no aircon expert!

It's my aircon not working. I went to DIY recharge the system and it was showing yellow in the alert section of the gauge. The aircon fan is working OK, the compressor clutch is locating OK. There are no codes on the AC self test system. One indication is the aircon fan runs at a lower temperature than normally.

Sooo, what da yer reckon.

Is it the drier?
Twin pressure sensor?
Ambient temperature sensor?
Is it the condenser or evaporator or their sensors?
Or, I dread to consider, is it the AC compressor? (big ticket item)

Apparently according to the gauge when testing the system it appears to hold pressure OK. The only issue in the last year has been it has needed a recharge by a professional but also my passenger side outlet grill seemed slightly warmer than the driver's side.

Any knowledge or help gratefully received but no expensive guesses please.

Many thanks.

Old 07-02-2018, 10:33 AM
TReK
Received 481 Likes on 404 Posts

I would run dye through it and look for leaks with a black light first.
If the recharge can reads low, then you may likely have a leak.

Old 07-02-2018, 11:07 AM
Pro Wrench
Received 366 Likes on 285 Posts

I can offer that the compressor is wired through the pressure switch. If the switch is open due to a pressure problem then the compressor will not run.
If it needed a charge in the last year, then there is a leak. Do you have a set of gauges? The only real way to troubleshoot is to hook up a manifold and see what the pressures are.

Some other things you will want to consider: