Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Center differential lock for pre 2004 Discovery 2 models revisited

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2021, 02:00 PM
5th Gear
Received 10 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Center differential lock for pre 2004 Discovery 2 models revisited

Hello everybody. I'm a brand new discovery 2 owner. I'm just beginning to learn about these amazing vehicles..... Both the good and the bad. I had no idea about some of the concerns that owners have had prior to purchasing the car. Let's just say I jumped into it a bit blind. Some positive things have developed. First I ended up getting a decent car for not a whole lot of money. It happens to be a 2001 SE7 and it's in relatively decent shape. Pretty straight overall runs fine, no three amigos, pass the emissions, all stock. It's got the usual cracked plastic moldings and some things don't work as they should. This goes specifically for the rear AC. But that's another story. Since I got the car the first thing I did was to install a single din updated entertainment system and got rid of that old junk and negated the CD changer under the seat. I got a Jensen player and with just a few small tweaks ended up fitting it in and it clicked into place. I must say all the wires in the back were a pain in the butt to squish into the housing. But eventually I did it. Next I upgraded the front drive shaft even though the original one seemed to be bumping along just fine. I got a Tom woods version and was lucky enough to talk the muffler guys into installing it for me for 150 bucks. It may seem like a lot for 30 minutes work. But I didn't want to take it the job on because I have no lift and put on way too much weight during covid to crawl around under the car in uncomfortable positions. So they installed the Tom woods front drive shaft. My original reason for going there was because my muffler was making a rattling noise. The 20-year-old bellows kicked out and were ra