Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Coolant leaking from passenger frame rail

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2014, 11:43 PM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coolant leaking from passenger frame rail

Hello. Bought my (first) '03 LR Disco II SE7 about 6 months ago. It needed a lot of work and I have replaced spark plugs & wires, water pump, throttle body heater hose, thermostat, and (most recently) timing cover gasket, timing chain and oil pump gearset. Still learning about Land Rovers and the forum has been a big help. I now have coolant dripping out of the passenger-side frame rail about half-way down in the middle of the vehicle. It's the strangest thing. Since I'm new to LandRovers, at first I thought there might be a rear heater and rear heater hoses; but I learned that it's only rear AC. It left a stain about 6"-9" wide. And since it's leaking coolant, the reservoir is low, as a result. Any idea on how coolant is entering the frame rail and traveling half-way down the car and the originating source of the leak? I've searched the forum a few times for this - with no luck. Any ideas? Any help and/or suggestions are very much appreciated. Thanks.

Old 07-30-2014, 02:12 AM
Super Moderator
Received 210 Likes on 194 Posts

Holes in top and bottom of frame are for just that, water to get out.
Most of your hoses as well as the res and heater hoses are above it. a pressure test would easily find the source. Uv additive is also a helper in finding leaks.
Your Ac condensation also drains right at the cat locations near frame. Are you sure that is not what you are seeing?

Last edited by dusty1; 07-30-2014 at 02:17 AM.
Old 07-30-2014, 06:44 AM
Baja
Received 317 Likes on 311 Posts

if your sure it coolant you should pressure test the system, checking the recovery tank and all its connections that the only thing i can think of that would allow coolant to run down the frame rail.

Old 07-30-2014, 08:01 AM