Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cruise Control Likes to Hunt

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2020, 08:26 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Cruise Control Likes to Hunt

I just recently started driving my 2004 D2 on longer distance drives (NC to Delaware & NJ & back) so I'm new to using cruise control on the beast. Is it normal for this vehicle to constantly hunt for the power to hold a set speed on a nice flat stretch of highway? It does gradually, like as in several minutes, damper out somewhat but it cycles between heavy acceleration and coasting/deceleration for quite a while after setting/resuming a speed or after a change (uphill or downhill) that affects the speed. It's almost enough to make me airsick and I'm a pilot! Is there any way to tweak the system to calm it down or at least make more frequent/less aggressive changes? I think the slack in the cables is about right...what else should I check?

Old 08-14-2020, 08:45 PM
Super Moderator
Received 2,297 Likes on 1,688 Posts

Put the slack on the cables at 1-2MM on both cables. Anything larger like 4-5MM = Cruise Control is going to surge. It makes a big difference in acceleration feel (no more dead pedal feel or laggy response), and the CC will not surge nearly as bad. I never really noticed the surging on a 4.0L V8 D2, but the 4.6L can certainly surge. They had several tweaks for it back in the day, but it never took the surge out totally.

Old 08-14-2020, 08:47 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 894 Likes on 645 Posts

A VERY well known failure point is the vacuum hose between the vacuum pump and the actuator of the cruise control assembly.

In many cases, a leak causes the system to not work at all. I suppose it's possible that a small leak could inhibit the performance of the cruise control but not render it completely inoperative.

Remove the hose and inspect it, and if you see any cracks replace it.