Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dangerous Brake Failure

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2012, 09:56 AM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dangerous Brake Failure

Hello one and all, looking for some advice. I had a very scary moment with my face lift Discovery2 the other day. I'm new to Landrover ownership and while I love the car this problem scared the crap out of me.
I'll try to explain as best as I can. While travelling down a long and very steep hill I dabbed the brakes three or four times. By the fifth dab the brake pedal was solid and I had ZERO brake. All this heading towards a junction. After taking my foot off the brake pedal for about 4 seconds I got the brake back.
Any ideas before this thing kills me?
The car has new pads, new caliper sliding pins, new discs all round and new brake fluid. I'm not overly impressed by the brakes when they are working and cant help but feel the performance of the brakes is being hindered by something. On closer inspection of the new rear discs it looks like not all of the disc is getting the full pressure of the pads as the outer half of the disc seems to get slightly corroded when left standing for a while. Not full on rusted but while the inner half of the disc is nice and shiny it seems the outer half of the disc is not as clean? Like its getting some pressure but not much?
Regards
Stinky Pants

Last edited by Doctorsmudge; 12-09-2012 at 10:02 AM.
Old 12-09-2012, 10:12 AM
Administrator
Received 103 Likes on 85 Posts

How mechanical are you, how many miles on the truck, and by brand what pads and rotors did you install? Do you have any or the 4 brake warning lights on?
As for your question, Disco brake systems pump up and although it is common for the brakes to stop faster on the second pump, I have never heard of or experienced what you have described.

Old 12-09-2012, 10:39 AM
7th Gear
Default Brand

Hi Mike,