Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Default Very cofussed about propeller shaft rebuild or TW

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2011, 03:17 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Very cofussed about propeller shaft rebuild or TW

Our 03 Disco has 58,000 miles now & seems to be solid but I have decided I need to be proactive & do something with the Front non grease-able shaft.

I thought it would be a simple decision but after lots of reading I am more confused than I when I started reading.

Some seam to like rebuilding which I have never done before so this is a little intimidating although doable. After reading I am most concerned about the centering kit removal & install.

Now I thought about just buying the TWs shaft which seemed fastest & simplest but some seem to have vibration issues after installing the TWs which concerns me since it is allot of $$$$s to spend & have issues with.

1. So can some of you give me an idea if the TWs is a good choice & if the vibration issues are really a problem?

2. Also TWs seems to use grease-able center also which doesn't seem to be available on a rebuild. Is this really a worthwhile advantage?

3. Besides cost what are the advantages & disadvantages DIY rebuilding existing shaft?

4. Is there really a good chance I will still need to buy a new shaft with a rebuild on my existing one?

I appreciate any help anyone can provide & if my questions seem like they have already been answered I apologize in advance I am asking for clarification. I usually don't post much because I research past post first.

Last edited by mcgyver210; 01-29-2011 at 03:24 PM.
Old 01-29-2011, 03:44 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a friend that owns an off-road shop in Phoenix that uses nothing but TW's shafts and he loves them. I'm not sure about the vibration issue you are talking about. On my DI i used Great Basin Rovers front and rear shafts, no complaints.