Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dicovery II tow hitch drop question for boat trailering

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2012 | 06:46 PM
|
3rd Gear
Default Dicovery II tow hitch drop question for boat trailering

I am relatively new to the Land Rover community (and brand new to this LR forum). I picked up a 2002 Disco about 6 months ago and I am going to trailering a 18.5 foot boat. I think the total weight with boat, motor, and trailer is going to be around 2600-2700 lbs. (Dual axle'd trailer w/ brakes) My question is this: does anyone have any experience with towing such a rig, and how much 'drop' do i need for the hitch? I was thinking a hitch (ball) with a 2 inch drop would probably be what i needed - but do i need any more drop than this? like a 3.5" drop?, (or even no drop at all??) I am assuming the trailer needs to be level. Any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks! Oh, and my Disco does not have the hydraulic suspension..

2002 Discover II SE

Old 07-29-2012 | 08:56 PM
Administrator

It veries depending on your trailer, it's length and most importantly your suspension, which if stock will be pretty weak.

Old 07-29-2012 | 09:29 PM
Team Owner

I've towed more trailers than every one on the forum combined, all you will need is a 2" drop, if that is to low then flip the draw bar over and you will now have a 2" rise.
You will have almost no weight at all on the back of the truck so it will sit pretty level, the only thing you will need to worry about is going in and out of parking lots/driveways/etc. because the hand winch on your trailer may come in contact with your spare tire as the back of the truck drops (like when pulling into a steep driveway) and the tongue of the trailer drops towards the ground, the whatever its called that the winch is on that sticks up in the front of the trailer will be really close to your spare.