Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Discovery 2 upgrade project

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2023, 04:14 PM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Discovery 2 upgrade project

Hi, I have recently bought my first Land Rover which was a 2003 discovery 2 with around 150k miles. This is my first proper experience with cars and mechanics so I have limited knowledge on how it works. I don’t know how all the intricate parts work and what every part does but I have a vague idea. I’m planning on increasing the overall power and performance of it while also keeping it in a road legal condition. Currently it isn’t on the road as for the mot it will need the rear chassis welding but the rest of the chassis is solid. The main aim for it is to increase power, look good and also be road legal by the end of it. I don’t want to spend thousands on it but this is a longer term project of about a year. But my question is what should I do to upgrade the horsepower on it? Any other help or information with owning a Land Rover for the first time would be much appreciated, Thanks very much.

Old 02-23-2023, 06:13 PM
TReK
Received 768 Likes on 636 Posts

There's a sticky thread at the top of the D2 forum. Read it from start to finish.
As far as power upgrades, there's almost nothing you can do. Again, read this forum thoroughly and you'll see that performance upgrades are often invasive (e.g. replacement camshaft) or somewhat complex (electric fan conversion), and produce relatively minor yields. Your first real objective if you plan on keeping it should be to get it to be a reliable runner.

The following users liked this post:
V50-M66 (02-24-2023)
Old 02-24-2023, 01:43 AM
Overlanding

Thank you for the help, I will read that now.

Old 02-24-2023, 09:46 AM
Pro Wrench
Received 438 Likes on 298 Posts