Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Exhaust manifold bolt issues

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2013, 02:03 AM
8th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust manifold bolt issues

Hello all, I have been using this site for a few years to get general guidance and advice and now have a problem that I can't find the answer to. I have an 01 disco II with 168k and am replacing a blown head gasket. Everything came off the truck just fine and with no major issues. I took my heads into a local LR shop that does a one for one swap and got back a complete set that had been machined/cleaned/new rockers and valves. Passenger side went in no issues but now on the drivers side I have two exhaust manifold bolts that are giving me a major issue. One of them simply will not thread. I've literally tried everything that I can think to get it to go, I've even tried to fit the bolt with the manifold off and still it will not take. The other seems to have miss threaded. I stopped ratcheting the bolt when I felt something wasn't right but when I brought the bolt back out the first three threads or so had already been worn smooth.

So, my question is should I start by getting a tap and going at the holes that way and hoping that I can re-thread them or am I at a point where I need to start looking at replacing the head it self? If I can get even one of the bolts to go are there options to make sure that I don't end up with an exhaust leak leading to CEL, O2 sensor issues, etc etc? Thanks guys/gals for any and all input. I really feel like I'm at a standstill here, not really sure which route would be the most effective/efficient.

Old 01-29-2013, 05:39 AM
Pro Wrench
Received 32 Likes on 27 Posts

Forget about running the manifolds with a few bolts missing. That won't work. You need to have every bolt installed or you will be listening to a tick until you destroy the truck bcause you can't take it anymore.