Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Flooded Rover

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2012, 11:19 AM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flooded Rover

Hi folks!

Im new to the D2 gang and am fully hooked! I was at an auto auction not long ago with no intentions of buying when at the last minute my hand shoots in the air and I now own a 99 D2 princess with 157,000 miles for $1050. By the way this is my first post and know I have to get at least five. Anyways after whipping a new head gasket in the adventure began. Took her up to MT. Hood for a little exploring and longer story short got her stuck in enough water to submerge the exhaust. She ran that way for an hour and a half before some kind hunters pulled us out with ease. On the way home the M&S lights start flashing and check engine light comes on although driving relatively well. Next day mandatory errands leave me unable to reverse and driving home in limp mode.
Now dirty princess wont start, shift or give me the key back without unhooking the battery. So far I have pulled all carpet, headliners and seats in order to dry. I fear for the headliner. I have also pulled the TCU(glad to know that's there) and the XYZ Switch. Switch looks good but TCU was full of mud and got replaced. I might not be able to completely afford this but I love it any way.
So... I have been pouring over this site and so much great info. You guys rock! I am trying to upgrade my status on this site so i can have full access to pics and what not.
I am hunting for links to all the different tricks and tips for water proofing the electrics and venting all of those wonderful trans and diff cases. So much I should have known before being a knuckle head but live and learn. You cant beat this experience!
Along with waterproofing and possibly herculining the whole floor I am preparing to do all "major maintenance", OME suspension, snorkel, New bumpers and winch. What else do I need?