Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

have you had any luck matching paint

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2012, 09:49 AM
Mudding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default have you had any luck matching paint

I have an epsom green 2000 d2. I want to blend my roof and I would like to get some paint matched. a company on ebay has the color listed in and aerosol can. I'm a profession painter so I'm aware of how to paint my car and understand the limitatrions of a spray can. what I want to know is if anyone has had any luck with these colors matching up worth a darn. if I could get a spray can to blend my rooof it would save a lot of hassle of getting out my hvlp guns and doing an entire roof. also its a roof, if it is really close it has to look better than the giant white patch on the roof where the clear is coming off.

Old 10-11-2012, 09:57 AM
Administrator
Received 103 Likes on 85 Posts

Make sure to wet sand the entire roof, especially all the bad clear coat, paint and throw 2 coats of clear coat on the new paint.
As for where to get the paint, especailly in spray cans, can't help you.

Old 10-11-2012, 05:39 PM
Mudding

like I said, I'm good on the technical end of how to paint it, I'm just curious if anyone has purchased any of the custom matched ebay rattle cans. I can go up to the local auto paint store and get a can of base matched, I'm just trying to be lazy...

Old 10-11-2012, 08:03 PM
Super Moderator
Received 97 Likes on 91 Posts

The sticker under the hood might list an OEM part number, and then you could just order from an online dealer.

Old 10-11-2012, 08:17 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 44 Likes on 42 Posts

Originally Posted by suzukisam967m
like I said, I'm good on the technical end of how to paint it, I'm just curious if anyone has purchased any of the custom matched ebay rattle cans. I can go up to the local auto paint store and get a can of base matched, I'm just trying to be lazy...