Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Head Gasket and junk

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2010, 10:06 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Head Gasket and junk

Well, I just drove across the country, and I noticed that there was a LOT of crap building up on my engine. I'm not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination, and my mechanic says that it's getting a complete rebuild from the bottom up. Here's some pics to show the work.

and a close up of the sludge

ETA: Pikes Peak Rovers in Colorado Springs is the shop I'm using.

Old 02-04-2010, 10:24 PM
Winching
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Time to spend some money at the nearest hot-water do-it-yourself car wash buddy. Take a roll (or 3) of quarters, a couple of cans of engine degreaser, and some saran wrap (to put over the fuse box and electronic parts under the hood) and give your baby a good once over. While you are there you might as well go ahead and wash the under body too. Not only does it show your rover that you care but it allows you to see where this gunk is coming from and spot any potential leaks early.
Enjoy! -this is never a fun task in feburary...

Old 02-04-2010, 10:58 PM
Winching
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I haven't seen a head that pretty since I climbed out of bed this morning and looked in the mirror!!
nice - ditto on the pressure wash tho'

luck,greg

Old 02-04-2010, 11:11 PM
Drifting

That was what it looked like this afternoon. I'll post up some pictures of what it looks like after it gets completed. Like I said, I'm not a trained mechanic. I'm lucky to have helpful people that I can trust on my side, or rather on the side of my Disco.

A couple of months ago I took it to a dealership on the east coast, and the advice they gave me (come to find out) was contrary to ...... well, if I knew then what I know now, I wouldn't have driven it across the country.

Old 02-04-2010, 11:26 PM
4wd Low