Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to fix a hole in Headlight Assembly????

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2011, 10:39 AM
TReK
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Angry How to fix a hole in Headlight Assembly????

Got a rock straight through my headlight a couple weeks ago, and with the glorious non-stop wet weather we've had up here in Seattle, I've got water and/or condensation in the light 24/7. Finally yesterday, the bulb (literally) exploded.

I am planning on tackling this over the weekend and wanted to see if anyone had any luck sealing an eraser sized hole in a headlight assembly? Any ideas or things to try are welcome.

Old 01-20-2011, 10:50 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

A very temporary fix would be some strong heavy duty clear tape. Keep in mind i am no professional and i wouldn't use this to any degree of permanence so any1 that wants to shoot down that idea is more than welcome.

Old 01-20-2011, 11:00 AM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 30 Likes on 22 Posts

Here is a deal on one. This guy on eBay has all new genuine Rover parts, I have bought many items from him. It will only help if its your LH side.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/New-G...Q5fAccessories

Old 01-20-2011, 11:05 AM
TReK

Originally Posted by Livingintheskies
A very temporary fix would be some strong heavy duty clear tape. Keep in mind i am no professional and i wouldn't use this to any degree of permanence so any1 that wants to shoot down that idea is more than welcome.
Funny you should say tape...I'm already using a strip of electrical tape

On another note are DI and DII (99-02) headlight assemblies the same/a direct replacement?

Old 01-20-2011, 11:09 AM
TReK
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by bosshogt
Here is a deal on one. This guy on eBay has all new genuine Rover parts, I have bought many items from him. It will only help if its your LH side.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/New-G...Q5fAccessories