Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to replace ball joints

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2015 | 07:31 PM
|
Camel Trophy
Default How to replace ball joints

I have made a concerted effort to give back to Land Rover Forums the last few weeks after years of obtaining the help and guidance I need to keep my 2000 Discovery II going as a daily driver. For better or worse, this is a continuation of those efforts. I am not a mechanic and have very little mechanical experience except what I have done on my Disco II. When it came time to replace my ball joints, I checked the forums and didn't find anything specific, so I turned to YouTube and found a pretty good video series.
Very instructive video, and I recommend it to anyone who is planning to do their own front ball joints. However, if you watch the video you will notice that he had to have a part made... I don't have access to that. So what follows is my non-mechanic recollection of my recent ball joint job.

Tools needed: sockets (metric and a set of impact sockets, plus a couple of extensions), ball joint removal tool, flat screwdriver, at least one jack (I used two) and jack stands for safety, gloves, towels, a sledge hammer, allen wrench (to remove ABS sensor safely), rubber mallet, phillips screwdriver, flat screwdriver or pry bar, and a regular hammer.

Time to complete: 3 hours on the first side, 2 hours on the second and 2 hours thereafter for any other ball joint jobs (3 hours includes learning curve)

Supplies needed: 2 upper and 2 lower ball joints (I used Moog on a recommendation, ordered from Moog), differential oil to replace any that spills.

Location: I did mine in the blazing sun. I don't recommend it.

What they do: The ball joints basically hold your tires up and down and allow you to turn.