Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to: upgrade stock alpine stereo

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2016, 10:02 PM
Mudding
Received 35 Likes on 19 Posts
Default How to: upgrade stock alpine stereo

I upgraded my headunit today, thought I'd summarize everything I learned - had to use multiple sources. This is my first time doing something like this, not that difficult.

The initial issue of what 1 DIN headunit to pick was overwhelming, I found an article on wirecutter which picked a fairly affordable pioneer unit. I didn't want CD, just bluetooth/aux in/usb. Everything combined cost $100, cheaper than the grom bluetooth unit, with more features.

wirecutter article: The Best Bluetooth Car Stereo Receiver | The Wirecutter

I got the recommended Pioneer MVH-X380BT for $60 on ebay.

There were two options for wiring harness - metra 70-1758 or metra 70-1786. The difference is the metra 70-1758 doesnt have the 4 RCAs for the speakers (left/right, front/back). Unfortunately my headunit did not have the 4 RCA outs.

Metra 70-1758 (note using this harness swap the yellow and red wires, I should've bought this one. Simply match colors, except yellow and red which are swapped)

Metra 70-1786 (using this harness I had to cut the RCAs and split them into positive and negative, no need to swap yellow and red wires with this harness)

I crimped the wires from the metra harness to the harness that came with my headunit. Used a $1 crimper from dollar tree hehe.

Amazon crimps: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Other information that I found useful:
Our land rover discovery 2 wiring harness diagram
2003-2004 Land Rover Discovery with Alpine Wiring Information

Standard stereo wire colors:

Removing the stock alpine stereo I used hanging folders ($7 at staples)

Also requires a 1/2 DIN cover to block the bottom half of our 1.5 DIN stereo hole:
https://www.amazon.com/Metra-89-9400...=metra+89-9400