Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking to get a Discovery (first Land Rover)

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2010, 05:48 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Looking to get a Discovery (first Land Rover)

I'm totally new to land rovers ( but not 4x4s) and was looking to get a D1 out here in Las Vegas. With that said i have lots of questions on what i should look for and am looking for input from the experts on what to watch out for.

I was thinking a D1 because it has the CDL and the D2's dont right? I'm going to be using it for a trail rig here in the high desert so that's a must for me.

I also though they all came with the 4.0 motor from 96 to 98 (i think) but i just saw one listed in LA that says its a 98 with the 4.8.. is that possible from the factory or has someone done a motor swap?

other than the CDL's was there a lot of differences in the D2? any worth the extra price they seem to be asking to go to one and were there any d2's with CDL?

With the discoverys in general what are the weak points i may be able to spot when i go look at one and during a test drive and whats liley to being getting warn out on a 120-170k miles land rover.

Sorry for all the questions and thanks in advance for all the help!

Dave

Old 04-11-2010, 07:24 PM
TReK
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by range_time
I was thinking a D1 because it has the CDL and the D2's dont right? I'm going to be using it for a trail rig here in the high desert so that's a must for me.

I also though they all came with the 4.0 motor from 96 to 98 (i think) but i just saw one listed in LA that says its a 98 with the 4.8.. is that possible from the factory or has someone done a motor swap?

other than the CDL's was there a lot of differences in the D2? any worth the extra price they seem to be asking to go to one and were there any d2's with CDL?