Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Bumper/Brush Guard for Disco II

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2008, 12:16 PM
Mudding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Bumper/Brush Guard for Disco II

My 2002 Disco II was recently hit while parked, cracking the front plastic bumper cover. Since I have some money from the insurance settlement for a replacement, I'm considering replacing the bumper with steel ARB or TJM model.

Before the accident, I was considering simply putting a Land Rover Brush Bar on the front, the wrap-around model found here:

http://www.roverparts.com/Parts/STC50022G.cfm

But I like the idea of replacing the weak factory bumper with something more sturdy. I do take my Disco off-road, but I'm not into serious off-roading, mostly climbing the dirt roads/trails above Santa Barbara. I'm also new to Land Rovers, having owned mine for about 8 months now.

So my questions are these:

1. Should I consider an ARB or a TJM steel bull bar bumper? If so, which one?

2. Will either the ARB or the TJM be problematic if I'm not currently considering any other serious off-road modifications? (I read in a forum that their weight may produce front end sag?)

3. Is the factory brush guard worth anything at all? Or is it considered more of a fashion accessory than off road protection?

4. Does anyone make a rear steel bumper for the Disco II? I've already had the rear bumper replaced as well, and that damage actually happened off road--I was shooting out of a washed-out creek bed and the underside of the bumper caught a boulder.

Thanks in advance for any advice or suggestions...

Old 02-07-2008, 04:16 PM
Administrator
Received 103 Likes on 85 Posts
Default RE: New Bumper/Brush Guard for Disco II

There are 3 bumpers out there, the 2 you have mentioned as well as the RTE, or you can make your own, like I did.

Old 02-07-2008, 07:47 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts