Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to Land Rover World!

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2010, 04:04 AM
8th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Land Rover World!

Hi there! I am a newbie to the Land Rover world, I am a Jeep convert... I bought a 2000 Discovery II a couple of months ago, and so far I am very happy! Just a few things I would like to discuss, as I didn't do my homework before my buy( I know naught me!).
Here is a list of my problems concerns:
1. Three amigos. Mine are there, always... As soon as I turn my engine on they are there until I turn it off. I am sure I need a brake job, including rotors... Will that fix this?
2. Check engine light... It is always on and peridiodically flashes at me while driving.
3. SRS light... That came on since I have owned it.
4. A little red truck light with arrows pointing to the side of the the truck. Usually comes on during a turn. It beeps a lot then the light stays on.
5. A wobble during hard braking.
6. A nasty squeal during engine acceleration. It doesnt squeal while the engine is at idle.
7. A small ticking in the engine. Not sure how to describe this... It is not very loud, but its there.
8. Air suspension. It was converted to spring suspension, do I want to keep it this way or possibly convert it back?

A little about what I have learned from the forums. I use only premium gas. The three amigos have something to do with either the hubs or abs module. I should really do the 60K service ASAP. And that Disco's are awesome

Old 06-14-2010, 06:25 AM
TReK
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

1. need to pull codes(special scan tool)..could be as simple as brake dust could be as costly as needing a new shuttle vavle in the ABS(save up money for the last one)
2. pull codes..any autoparts store
3. pull codes..probably requires a special scan tool not sure
4. no idea..ACE light maybe?
5. have brake rotors turned