Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Overheating 2001 discovery ii !!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2015, 01:23 PM
4wd Low
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Overheating 2001 discovery ii !!!

I'm trying to figure out why my truck wants to overheat . I know I have a leak in the back of the motor near the coil packs, but I can't see exactly where it's coming from. I have been using Bars Stop leak pellet formula for a couple years. It usually takes stops the leak for a few months . It might have overheated once in a while if the coolant was low. Or I will see a leak maybe on a hot day, put in a new bottle of Stop Leak and top off the coolant and it's good . I might lose about a quarter inch of fluid in my reservoir every two weeks. My mechanic told me I needed a heater core and the repair would cost $800 +. I need my truck every day and don't just wanna spend $800 dollars that I don't have, on a repair that might not be needed. I'm saying I think he misdiagnosed it because I don't have an inside leak, I don't smell antifreeze inside my vehicle and sometimes I could feel warm air trying to come out of the heat vents. My oil looks good, the antifreeze is green, I have no real loss of power

Well the current problem is that my bleeder valve started blowing steam once in a while. No overheating though. Then one day it spit out antifreeze. I turned it and it kept turning and was loose. The next day after a 10 minute drive on the highway, once I stopped at a turn lane after exiting the highway it overheated. The bleeder had popped off and leaked a lot of coolant out.
So I had to get the new upper radiator hose with the T connection, plastic coolant expansion hose (which I broke), and a thermostat. The leak in the back of the motor leaves almost a half of gallon of coolant on the ground when I park it. But sometimes it would be good in the morning to work. Then leak out when I get home.