Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Passenger Window Sticking when opening

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2014 | 09:45 PM
|
Drifting
Default Passenger Window Sticking when opening

Hi all,

Out of the blue, the passenger door on my LR Discovery II (2003) seems to be sticking when opening it (right after 1in opening it makes a clack sound, that didn't use to). I have attached link to video below showing this behavior.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/fako8t5wtg...512-WA0050.mp4

Not sure what is making this, it seems the window motor is fine as the window can go down and then close again but I am worried that if I continue to open this window I may break something.

Any thoughts on what could be causing this? Is it an easy fix that I can fix myself? (I am not a total newbie on taking things apart, though I am at taking apart cars).

Any guidance is welcome.

best,
macutan

Old 05-12-2014 | 10:42 PM
Camel Trophy

regulator, you can do it yourself.

Old 05-13-2014 | 03:50 AM
|
Drifting

Originally Posted by ZGPhoto
regulator, you can do it yourself.
Thank you ZGPhoto. I guess I would need to replace the whole part. Doesn't look crazily expensive (~$80)... Any tools I should invest on while I place the order for that part?

Old 05-13-2014 | 06:30 AM
Mudding

There are two guide wheels rolling inside a channel on the window regulator. They are made of cheap brittle plastic and they end up breaking in half at some point. When that happens, the pantograph arm slides in the channel and hangs on stamping imperfections as it goes along inside of it. No special tool needed but a panel popper tool is nice to have, and I bought a few replacement door panel clips because you always end up breaking a few.

Last edited by Lowest Bidder; 05-13-2014 at 06:35 AM.
Old 05-13-2014 | 07:07 AM
TReK