Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What would you recommend to replace stock tire size?

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2009, 11:24 AM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What would you recommend to replace stock tire size?

I am new to the forum and could not find a thread about replacing OEM tires. I am looking into replacing the same size tire 255/55/18. Possibly Kumho Road Venture APT KL51's or Falken Ziex S/TZ-04. Any recommendations? Cheers.

Old 12-29-2009, 11:56 AM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I have the kumho road venture mts and I love them so far. I would assume that the apts are just as good. I chose kumhos because of the price and because I had read good reviews on the new tread pattern. I have no experience with the Falkens. What type of driving do you do? If you are interested in some 16" rims I have some cheap in the classified section!

Old 01-04-2010, 01:42 PM
4wd Low
Default Do you need to replace four? How do you rotate tires?

I was told that since our Discos have 4-wheel drive we need to replace 4 tires. Replacing only two could mess up the 4-wheel drive. Is this accurate? Also, do you rotate five tires or just four? Thanks.

Last edited by Sixeye; 01-04-2010 at 01:46 PM.
Old 01-04-2010, 02:03 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

Originally Posted by Sixeye
I was told that since our Discos have 4-wheel drive we need to replace 4 tires. Replacing only two could mess up the 4-wheel drive. Is this accurate? Also, do you rotate five tires or just four? Thanks.
Yes, kinda.
No, only 4.

The problem with having different sized tires on the front and rear is that you can cause extra wear on the drive line.
Just because all four are the same "size" does NOT mean that they are all the same "size".