General Range Rover Discussion - Archived Archived threads for all Range Rover discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

headbolt torque problem/worry???

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2009, 10:01 PM
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question headbolt torque problem/worry???

hello again,wanna say-thanx alot for the info ive already found and recieved and used from this awesom forum.
now heres my new worry?
the headbolts on my 99 range rover,4.0LT are supoe to be torqued to 15FT.LBS.,then a 90 degree turn,then a final 90degree turn.well all i got on both heads was,I turned until i heard the click at 15FT.LBS.,then on my second go around,if i got a 90 degree turn on any of them,i dont beleive it,as for the third turn,maybe i got a 1/4 to 3/8`s of a turn,just like on the 2nd turn,and this was on every bolt between the 2 heads.
just wonderen if this is how it works on range rovers?? Or should i push on,and make the 90degree turns happen?? I just backed off from doing so,becuase i would hate to strip a thread on the block and have to mess with fixen that.(ive had that happen a couple times before on GMC blocks and BMW blocks,all becuase i pushed on like the book/directions said to do)
so throw me your opions or advice or your how too`s on the headbolt torquen,please?
thanx in advance and god bless,charlie in fl.......

Old 07-09-2009, 11:42 AM
Three Wheeling
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by charrliy525
hello again,wanna say-thanx alot for the info ive already found and recieved and used from this awesom forum.
now heres my new worry?