General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Buying Advice: For Sale with Blown Head Gaskets

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2021, 09:21 AM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying Advice: For Sale with Blown Head Gaskets

Sorry if I'm posting this in the wrong place! I'm looking at an 04 for sale with 100k miles and blown head gaskets. It looks really good and well maintained otherwise, but I'm still a bit apprehensive. The seller said this is the first time that it's overheated and that its just the head gaskets that need replacing. My worry stems from whether or not this is a horrible decision. Is there a risk that the block is also warped or cracked or that the sleeves are slipping? Or does that take multiple blown headgaskets / overheating before that level of damage happens to the engine?

Thanks for any and all replies! I'm just now dipping my toes into the world of land rover so I'm still pretty new to all this!

Old 02-19-2021, 10:18 AM
TReK
Received 503 Likes on 418 Posts

Well I would say that is not the best place to start your relationship with Land Rovers. Similar to finding a bloody girl on the street who has been divorced three times and deciding that would be a good first wife...

Unlikely that the block is warped. Could very well be that the block is cracked and worthless. There is no science on how many overheatings the block will take before it is toast. You would literally be rolling the dice.

What you do not mention is your mechanical skills and depth of wallet factor.

Depending on the above you may be better off finding a less pretty one that has a good engine.

Old 02-19-2021, 10:25 AM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts