General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Disco 1 California Smog issue HELP !

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2012, 11:10 PM
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Disco 1 California Smog issue HELP !

Hi Guys,
I am a newbie here and I have an issue with the the 95 Disco 1 I have.
Basically the vehicle passed the smog on every single criteria with one exception. That of idle speed (725rpm HC) the Co, O2 etc are all well within limits. Where do I start guys? I have a full set of tools etc inc OBD scan tool. But that shows nothing at fault. I am thinking CAT? but then why would the other results be correct? EGR Valve, but again why would every other test be fine?
John

Old 06-16-2012, 08:01 AM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

There is no EGR.
So whats wrong with the idle speed?
650-750 is dead on for these trucks.
Isn't your truck old enough to not need to be tested?

Old 06-16-2012, 03:21 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

that sounds ridiculous. i had a BMW that failed smog once in CA due to the tip of the exhaust pipe being a bit rusted. everything else passed. gotta love CA.
1975 and older is no smog.
what did the test say the idle should be at? there has to be a high low spec for it.

Old 06-16-2012, 06:18 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Yup, we live in California....the techs are trained very well these days. They definitely do not want to lose their license.

Post up the entire stats from the report. Running high HC's could be a rich condition, what are the O2 readings?

Old 06-17-2012, 06:18 AM
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Disco 1 Smog issue update.

Hi Guys,
The vehicle is a 95 Disco 1.
The Smog numbers that they gave me were as follows.
At idle speed.

CO2 14.30 PASS
02 0.60 PASS
HC 142 (the only problem area they failed the vehicle on. Max allowable HC100 at idle speed) FAIL
CO 0.28 PASS