General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Front end wear and tear

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2011 | 07:13 PM
|
3rd Gear
Cool Front end wear and tear

Hi all, im only new to rovers and to this forum so here goes...

I purchased a 97 300tdi for STUFF ALL in pretty good nick. Took it for a drive and found front end wobble at speed. No dramas. Im the sort of person who likes to replace wheel bearings, hoses, fluids, etc etc when I first buy a car cause thats how I roll. I keep my gear running perfect.

So I pulled the front end apart this week and was truly amazed at the amount of damage to all the components. What has me more concerned is that I didnt feel any of it while driving except for the speed wobble.

My question is (being my first 4x4) are there any tell tale signs of wear or impending doom that can prevent this sort of damage? Im rebuilding the whole front axle this weekend so im not expecting any problems for a few years but still, I was shocked. I really would prefer not to be doing 120k/h down the highway when one of my front wheels decides to take a vacation....

Old 10-21-2011 | 07:21 PM
Team Owner

Without knowing how many miles are on your truck I cant say if the damage you saw was fronm abuse, neglect or just plain old wear and tear.
The "death wobble" if left untreated will speed up the wear and tear process.
That is caused by worn out or loose swivel pins, there are 2 on each side, one on top of and one on the bottom of each swivel ball.
The odds of one of your front wheels going rouge is very slim, both wheels are connected to one another twice, once in the front of the axle and once behind the axle.
You have the steering rod in the front and the track rod in the back, odds of both of them breaking at once is very slim.
Remember these are built to take tons of abuse so they are very sturdy.

Old 10-21-2011 | 07:48 PM
|
3rd Gear