LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ford ranger engine in an LR3?

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2017, 07:34 PM
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ford ranger engine in an LR3?

Hi All, Newbie here.

So here's the scoop.

We bought a 2006 4.0 LR3 about a month ago. Spent money on new tires (Copper discoverer H/T Plus. Very good) and bought a whole set of controls arms front and back (sitting in the garden, waiting to go on)

Then the engine blew! In the middle of absolutely nowhere in BC Canada... at midnight... in the bear infested bit... on a long weekend.

After a $2000 towing bill to get it 14 hours home, it turns out the engine is toast. Limping it 160km to the nearest one horse town means the engine is full of the camchain cassette filings and done for.

Landrover Canada wants $11,500 for a new engine... plus tax... plus shipping FROM THE UK! :-)
Ford wants $4400 for a new Ranger 4.0 engine

I can't find a second hand engine in Canada.

I can however, find a very lightly used 2007 Ford ranger 4.0 that is technically the same engine (except lower compression and different timing, the differences I've found so far) for $650. meaning the computer is going to give a big "Nope" if I put it in.
... saving a gazzillion dollars!

So, to the help part. :-) I need a Guru. someone that can tell me what the differenced are between a Ford ranger 2007 4.0 V6 and an 2006 LR3 so we can canibalise the different parts into the new engine.

Has anyone ever attempted this? Did anyone find software issues and fixes? If its not possible, where do I find an engine in Canada and any other useful information anyone has.

*Someone, *somewhere* must have the information of the differences between engine part code 300AABB (or 300AABC) with a ford part number of 6006 or 6007 and a Ranger engine part number 6006AARW

So, over to you guys :-)...

Last edited by Canadian LR3; 08-17-2017 at 08:02 PM.
Old 08-17-2017, 08:10 PM
Geo
Rock Crawling