LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LR3 in Snow Conditions - NYC Today - All Pear Shaped

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2010, 07:30 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy LR3 in Snow Conditions - NYC Today - All Pear Shaped

I'm totally disappointed in the performance of my LR3 today in the New York blizzard. One foot of snow and going up a hill in snow/sand/gravel selection my LR3 gets stuck. Then, on the small incline on my driveway, LR3 gets stuck again. This is a very well conditioned, 2008, with Wrangler tires (not snow tires, per se). But, I'm talking about being serious stuck - watching the Nissan Pathfinder go by me, turn around an offer help. Maybe I'm just a crappy snow driver, but after having spent 20 years in serious USA midwest snow conditions before the east coast, I'm not a complete snow driving idiot. I just can't believe how poorly the truck weight-transfered to start spinning all wheels at the same time, fast and slow acceleration. I did not enjoy watching other SUV's go by my $46,000 truck which is reputed to be the best bad condition production car in the world while I'm outside with a shovel and roping to to a Ford F-150 to get out of a snow bank. I thought this truck would allow for a more nuanced snow travel experience. I have no doubt of the rock crawling capabilities of this car, but the snow was shocking. As my Brit friends say, it went all "pear shaped" today in the snow. I guess I'm a crappy snow driver...

Old 12-26-2010, 10:02 PM
Drifting

just read this on LandRoerForums.com from a post in 2008: