LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Land Rover Owner needs help.

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2015 | 08:24 PM
|
2nd Gear
Default New Land Rover Owner needs help.

I'm new to Landrovers. Here is my dilemma. I recently purchased a 2006 LR3 HSE I had a compressor that burned out. My mechanic (not a land rover dealer as the closest dealer is 200 miles away) replaced the compressor and I was able to replace it with a hitachi compressor. The mechanic then thought the the ride Level ECU was bad even though he could at least connect to the ecu with his limited diagnostic computer. But it was not controlling the compressor. He did verify that the compressor worked by temporarily bypassing the ECU. I had seen a TSB indicating that you had to flash the ECU if you replaced the compressor but we did not do that. I ordered a new ECU from a UK parts dealer. I did not notice at the time that he had two ecu's with the exact same part number listed but did not indicate what if any difference there was(I have an email into the parts dealer about the difference). When the mechanic put in the new ECU his limited computer could not talk at all to the new ECU. I just a Nanocom Evolution two days ago to perform my own work in the future. I went and hooked it up to the vehicle everything works as advertised but it does not recognize the ride level ECU including indicating that problem as a fault code not being able to communicate with the ride level ECU.

So here are my questions as I try to diagnose where the problem is:
1. If you put a new ride level ECU after replacing the compressor(i did replace with a hitachi compressor) is there something that needs to be done for the ECU to communicate with devices properly or is this the wrong ECU or a faulty part?