LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about brake pads

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2008, 11:34 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about brake pads

I am on a business trip in STL and on the drive here my brake light flashed on the dash and the message center said "check brake pads". So I looked up the local dealer->Plaza Motor Co in Creve Coeur MO and dropped it off for a quote. The dealership experience was A1 and I got a free loaner, but is $1300 [:@] an inflated price for the dealer doing front and rear pad brake service? Fronts were down to 8% and rears were 12%, so I said do both. What did you pay for front and rear pad brake service?

2nd question: Is there anyone that makes a ceramic pad for the LR3 or one that has reduced brake dust?

Old 08-26-2008, 12:21 AM
Drifting
Default RE: Question about brake pads

I have no first hand experience, since I've only had my LR3 for about a week [8D], but I was reading an article online about the LR3 and they mentioned brakes…keep in mind it was written in late 2005, but here's the quote.

"Our sole out-of-pocket costs went toward a quart of synthetic oil ($7) and, after 21,000 miles, new front and rear brake pads ($613.69). "

Old 08-26-2008, 10:58 AM
Winching
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

There is nothing special about changing out your brake pads on the LR3. Anyone witha little know howand the right tools can change the brake pads themselves and save a bundle. However, for those out there without the know how or the right tools, or simply not feeling like doing the work yourself ([sm=guilty.gif]) any brake shop can change out your brake pads professionaly, with warranty and at a fraction of the dealer cost. Try Midas, Kregors, Pepboys, whatever local shop is available in your area. Should not cost you more than a few hundred bucks, I'm guessing.

Old 08-26-2008, 09:18 PM
Overlanding